Skip to content

On my interpretation of the words ‘read’ and ‘read’ in the…

December 13, 2012

…context of a software licensing agreement.  I assume without question that: 1) it is properly written; 2) all ambiguity is deliberate and hence any possible valid English interpretation is a correct one, amongst which I may choose my preferred interpretation; and 3) The part of the license agreement which is to be read carefully begins at the very beginning, with the first visible word of the document and proceeds, complete sentence by complete sentence until a grammatical or lexicographic error is found, at which point I stop reading and what I have read is what I have agreed to.  If you wish to discuss further what exactly is agreed to, this must be done face to face in person.

Yours ever,John

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

