Skip to content

My Campaign for Clear English

August 14, 2011

I like there to be clarity in my communications, so that what I wish to express to others can be readily received.  I like others to treat me with the same or similar intent.  Thus I demand clarity in things that I find it necessary to read.  To this end, I have launched what is, for now, my personal crusade for clarity in English communications.  Note that I do not say Plain English: sometimes a concept isn’t easy to express in Plain English and complicated wordage is the result.  To improve clarity, you need to introduce straightforward structure and rules: you may reference other sources and you may define terms, but these mechanisms should be used with care, and you as the author should take most of the responsibility for misunderstandings.  The website is here.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

